Visiting Bang Pa-In
Also destroyed by the Burmese army in 1767, the reconstruction of the Summer Palace complex of Bang Pa-In was started in 1851 by Mongkut (Rama IV), but it was his successor King Chulalongkorn (Rama V), that created most of the actual buildings, trying to match the European standard, with Versailles as model.
The only building opened to public is a Chinese style palace, called Phra Thinang Wehart Chamrun, with a precious interior.
From outside, it’s possible to see Ho Withun Thasana, or Sages Look-Out, a tower built in 1881 and used as an observatory to view the sky and surrounding area. The most beautiful building, however, is probably, the Aisawan Thiphya, the pavilion in the middle of the ornamental pond.Distant 60 km from Bangkok, it may be visited everyday from 8.30 a.m. to 16.30 p.m.
Attention to the dress code, similar to the Grand Palace of Bangkok – no short skirts or short pants, no sleeveless shirts.